Reviews

95% recommend us
You can also give us your opinion here, after your stay with us.

RECOMMENDED BY:

TripAdvisor Certificate of Exellence in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014
TripAdvisor’s Top ten most curious hotels in Europe

Guest reviews


2014

An excellent hotel in terms of room and breakfast, comfortable good big bed, bathroom enormous, good front desk service and breakfast decent. Only the 'free wifi' is so slow to make it painful, took 15 mins just to find the service. In a modern place like this they should have the equivalent wifi. Would have been 5 stars if so!!   United Kingdom, July 2014

This hotel used to be a movie theatre and all the rooms are named after famous actors or directors. When I first went down to reception, I thought I saw an Alfred Hitchcock look-alike sitting on a settee. It was him! The rooms are very lavish however you can get quite chilly as a result of the air-conditioning and blankets are not provided by default so I advise asking for them. Breakfast was going to cost a fortune so we went to the bar on the other side of the side street that the hotel is on and got a great price on a croissant and cappuccino combination. The hotel is about a 10-minute bus ride to Casco Antiguo, the old part of town where many of the good restaurants are. The staff will tell you the right bus numbers.   Canada, July 2014

Clean modern hotel with excellent front of house staff-they were very inviting and helpful throughout our trip. Cute restaurant in addition to breakfast buffet. Watched the World Cup final within they streamed on the restaurant wall for guests to see-fantastic! Short incredible walk to city centre and breathtaking beach...excellent pintxos bars just a hop further. Easily walked home after dinner both nights -can't wait to come back!!! United Kingdom, July 2014

My husband & I spent 2 nights at this hotel in June, 2014. We found the location was perfect just off a side street with busses available right across the street to visit the old town. The room was clean & comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We didn't dine in but did have drinks in the lively cafeteria attached to the hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel.   United Kingdom, June 2014

Lovely modern hotel with all the services you need. Fantastic themed rooms which are very well appointed. Staff are very helpful (and fluent in multiple languages!) and the breakfast is spot on. To top it off the hotel has a fantastic free dvd library (appropriate given the theme). Loved it so much we stayed an extra 2 nights. Highly recommend.   United Kingdom, June 2014

What a find!!! We loved this hotel from the get go. The room was spotless, spacious, modern and delightful. Perfection from the moment we arrived until we left. I highly recommend the restaurant for lunch or dinner and definitely include the delicious and extremely generous breakfast. 2 thumbs up for this fabulous place!!!   United Kingdom, June 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a visit to the city. Hotel is a 20 min walk to old town but plenty in between. Hotel is modern clean and tidy. Good breakfast, decent bar. Good restaurants nearby. Front desk staff were all very, very helpful and make good reconditions for our dinner requirements. Bed comfortable, shower was excellent. Would stay here again.   United Kingdom, May 2014

The rooms with cinematic theme were great - clean, good amenities. The location was perfect for access to bus lines, there was a market, a tapas bar nearby, and a restaurant in the hotel in addition to opaque coffee shop next door. However, when it came to asking the front desk people for suggestions regarding tourist attractions in usual response was, "I'm too busy right now. I'll research it & you can check back. " Four of five times, the seemingly unbusy front desk people gave the air that it was "not their job". There was no concierge available, thus the reason to consult the front desk...or should I say, try to. They usually just referred us to the tourist info center which was blocks away. Our group of four found much friendlier staff at our prior hotel in Lisbon.   United Kingdom, May 2014

This hotel, was central to all our needs in San Sebastián . Was modern with a quirky edge. quiet, well spoken staff, over all comfortable. car parking convenient also. At $150? Per night highly recommend staying there.   United Kingdom, April 2014

Excellent hotel with very friendly staff. Stayed with a family of four (2 adults and a 19 and 10 year olds) for 4 nights. Got 2 joining superb rooms. A bit of a refreshing walk to the centrum but the location near the buss station for Bilba and Bilbao airport is handy.   United Kingdom, April 2014

The Astoria is a very pleasant, clean and stylish hotel, our room was very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Certainly we will stay there again. Although a bit far from the centre of town, it is a strait walk to the centre and gives you an opportunity for a 20 minutes walk. There are also buses to the centre.   United Kingdom, April 2014

Have stayed here twice now and been happy each time. The rooms are clean and of a reasonable size. each room has a different cinema related theme. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was varied and tasty. It is very close to the bus station which was a good way to arrive from Bilbao airport. There is about a 20 minute walk into the harbour and old town where most of the bars and restaurants are. If you don't want to walk there seemed to be a frequent bus service or taxis which the front desk would help with.  United Kingdom, March 2014

Most business hotels are homogeneous and unmemorable. The Astoria provides all that you would normally want, but in stylish surroundings. My room was large, with an enormous bed and nice marble bathroom. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. All the rooms are themed after movie stars and it gives the place quite a trendy feel. I was told it had previously been a cinema. Breakfast was good with nice pastries and breads. There is a cafe next door. About twenty minutes walk to the old town along the edge of the river. There is a gym and underground car park, which is a real plus as parking in the city in the summer is a nightmare. The city is about an hours drive from Bilbao airport. I paid about 120 euros, including breakfast.   United Kingdom, March 2014

We generally prefer more 'boutique' style intimate hotels, but the Astoria 7 is a special place and a real complement to the Donostia/San Sebastien experience. We've stayed there twice, once last winter and again in February, 2014. Situated a 20-minute walk from the port, Astoria 7 successfully combines contemporary design and real human comfort. The staff speak english well, and there's underground, secured parking. The Hollywood theme captivates and you find yourself reading all the names of the rooms on the mural in Reception! We stayed in Lauren Bacall. Great sized room well priced. Breakfasts are buffet-style and excellent. The walk to center-city takes you by great shops and restaurants. As San Sébastien is an international destination for food, choose carefully! But everywhere we went was excellent and I was grateful to have a digestive walk back to the hotel. I have not seen or experienced the pool or spa, so have refrained from rating them.   United Kingdom, Februry 2014

We stayed here last weekend. A good hotel, nice rooms, very good staff. Really friendly. We found the 30 min walk to the old town was easy and needed after all the pinxtos. I would stay here again. We didn't use the breakfast service but did use the cafe next door. It's very close to the bus station which is handy. The cinema theme is quirky and does add a.  United Kingdom, Februry 2014

A good hotel near the bus station. Travelled on business and this was convenient. Spacious rooms, themed by film star! I was in the John Malkovitch room. Good sized bathroom, free wi-fi, extremely clean. Breakfast wasn't vast in terms of offerings but offered sufficient and eggs are prepared fresh on request. Mini gym has 2 running machines, cross trainer, rowing machines, floor mats, exercise balls and free weights. The gym closed just after 9 and didn't open until 9. This is no good for people who want to exercise before work. I would have also liked a bath but the room only ha a shore. Location for a holiday perhaps would be a bit far from the sea. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Good hotel for a business trip. There is a deli close by on the next block.   United Kingdom, January 2014

We were pleased to have booked the Astoria: themed for the movies (San Seb is a major movie town) and each room is dedicated to a different star. The lobby had a life size of Hitchcock and the Christmas tree was made out of film tape...witty. It is a 20 minute walk into town or a 6Euro taxi ride. Breakfast was more than good, rooms were clean - although far too hot for us and the air conditioning was dodgy. The Astoria was a great choice for us as we wanted to take the bus to Bilbao on one of our three days in San Sebastian: the bus station is literally over the road. Thoroughly happy to recommend.   Australia, January 2014

2013

The Astoria is themed for the movies.Each room designated for a star.The Lobby features a life size model of Hitchcock.The rooms are reasonably sized with excellent bath rooms and adequate storage.There is a large library including multiple dvd's for use in the rooms.The hotel altough on a main route is well insulated and quiet at night .The bar serves good pintxos and raciones if needed but it is only a short bus ride 1.60 euros to the old town where great food is everywhere.The restaurant while were were there did some special evening meals but seems to be more in use at lunch.All in all a very good hotel well situated just out of the main town and close to buses and trains.There is a wonderful deli just a few doors away.  Lutterworth, December 2013

The hotel is located near the bus terminus, and is about 10 min walk from Amara train station, which makes it convenient as a base to explore nearby towns. Walking to the seafront along the river takes about 20-30 min, but very pleasant. My room was spacious, especially with a bright bathroom. There is also a popular cafe next to the lobby, as well as a film library. The small gym was also quite adequate for a small hotel like this one.  Toronto, December 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Astoria7 hotel! I was in San Sebastian for the 2013 marathon and I stayed there for 3 nights. I love the movie theme of the hotel and the different styled rooms and the different person in each room from the film industry. The hotel is super clean and modern, the restaurant area is lovely and always bustling with a good vibe! It not a luxurious hotel, but definitely worth the 4 stars it has been given. It was right around the corner from the bus station and the marathon start so it was in a perfect location for me. The walk to the old town wasn't too bad at all :o) in fact it was very nice during the day. The staff were super helpful and nice. I honestly don't have a bad word to stay about the hotel, definitely worth a stay :o) United Kingdom, November 2013

We went to the Basque Country to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Decided on this hotel and were not disappointed. Easy stroll to the beach and old town. Nice room, good breakfast, nice staff. Good parking in the basement. Easy access from the motorway. Clean and nice de luxe room.  United Kingdom, November 2013

This hotel has a strong move theme; each room is named after a movie star or director. We stayed in the Michael Douglas room, which was decortaed with photos of that actor. The standard rooms are a bit small; I'd go for a superior room next time. But the bed was comfortable, the bath was OK, and the location was convenient and quiet. we didn't subscribe to the breakfast, but it appears to be very reasonable.  United Kingdom, October 2013

We went to the Basque Country to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Decided on this hotel and were not disappointed. Easy stroll to the beach and old town. Nice room, good breakfast, nice staff. Good parking in the basement. Easy access from the motorway. Clean and nice de luxe room. United Kingdom, October 2013

The Astoria 7 is at the back of town rather than on the sea-front but this puts it near the bus station which is great for arriving and dropping backs off before exploring town unencumbered. It also means it's quiet at night and the walk back after dinner is a relaxing stroll. The room was a really good size with desk and sofa. It was clean and stylish. The staff were very friendly. We didn't opt for the breakfast, instead getting up late and eating in the cafe in the ground floor of the hotel and this was excellent value and again very friendly. I recommend visiting the little deli a few doors up from the hotel. I would have bought loads there if we had been able to carry it home!  United Kingdom, October 2013

We really liked the Astoria 7. Saved us tons compared to the Christina and was very comfortable. It's certainly not on top of the action but the walk isn't that long and it gives one a reason to take varying routes thru town. Also close to the train stations and bus pickup. Nice room facing another building. No noise issues to speak of. Front rooms seemed to be the balconies. Wonder how they'd be facing a busy street? Fitness center was well equipped and well appreciated. Jogging in the area wasn't too bad once we made it out to the river. Ate breakfast at the bar each morning. Very affordable and tasty. Not hotel related but something fun to do is pick up a bottle of wine and some cheese and bread from the market or super market and hike the jesus trail, find a spot and have some lunch. Or there's a park across the tracks that works well too.  United Kingdom, October 2013

Good quality of hotel with comfortable, stylish rooms. Very helpful staff. Good location for getting the bus to/ from Bilbao. Whilst it is 20 min walk to the old town the walk is pleasant & there are many nice parks, shops, bars & restaurants in the new town on the way.  United Kingdom, October 2013

Staff were really helpful and the hotel was uniquely designed. United Kingdom, September 2013

Very nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood. only 10 minutes to the city centre. very good atmosphere. Netherlands, August 2013

Very efficient & friendly reception staff on arrival. Excellent superior room. Very comfortable bed. Good A/C. Spotlessly clean & quiet. Excellent breakfast with eggs to order. United Kingdom, August 2013

Fantastic hotel, loved the room and the film themed décor! The staff was very helpful and the hotel was only a short 15-20 minute walk from the beach and the old town. USA, July 2013

Nice design, good staff and location close to busstation. veru quiet for good time sleeping. Netherlands, July 2013

Trendy hotel, lovely staff & nice tapas bar. Ireland, June 2013

Good location very new and well kept beautiful lobby with movie theme lovely cafeteria next door. Israel, June 2013

Great boutique hotel, lots of charm, friendly staff. US, May 2013

 Lovely room, good restaurant. Right near bus station and short walk to Trains.Local bus to Old town at the door and walkable if preferred. New Zealand, May 2013

 If you're planning to tour around the region by bus, this is the hotel to stay at. We took buses to Bilbao and Hondarribia from the bus station, which is conveniently only a couple blocks away[…]. US, April 2013

 Everything, check in was easy and fast. Room was comfortable. Gym was well equipped and in full working order  […]  I would stay here again. Ireland, April 2013

 My wife and I arrived in San Sebastian by bus and found the hotel very conveniently located next to the bus depot […] We stayed in a King room (901) and it was really good. It was probably one of the quietest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Australia, March 2013

 It’s a modern, urban and unique. Staff on the reception and restaurant was professional and friendly. Food in the restaurant : delicious. Spain, March 2013

 Great contemporary decor. A lobby where you could stay forever reading a book on San Sebastian rainy days. Brazil, March 2013

Everything! The food was excellent and the proximity to the old town whether on foot or by bus. Close enough to everything. U.K., February 2013

The modern design of the hotel, the friendly efficient reception staff and the convenient location. Our room was clean and comfortable. Australia, February 2013

A very good hotel with all the facilities I needed for business and shopping, and close to the football stadium for my work. U.K., February 2013

Comfortable room at reasonable price with good transport links.The breakfast was very goodand good starter for the day. U.K., February 2013

Modern and clean. Great variety at breakfast. Kuwait, January 2013


2012

Perfect hotel! Excellent stay! Very comfortable and delicious!!! Staff are very, very, friendly and professional! Thanks. Russia, December 2012

Superb staff, always helpful and really kind. Staff went extra mile when I needed their help on something. Can’t thank them enough. Whenever I go back to San Sebastian I will stay there. U.K., November 2012

Lovely room, excellent breakfasts and I liked the fact they had a fitness room. U.K., November 2012

Staff was very friendly and always willing to help. I loved the design of the rooms and the lobby. The tapas at the cafeteria were also great. Brazil, October 2012

The hotel was excellent. The movie theme applied to every room, and made for a unique experience. The rooms were spacious and well layed out and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good. U.S.A., October 2012

Very clean. Very helpful and friendly staff. Decent breakfast. King size bed. Safe and convenient parking slot. Taiwan, October 2012

[…]Our room was extremely comfortable and quite large - superior and very good value for the price. Staff was always courteous and welcoming - San Sebastian is quite beautiful and would certainly look at staying there again and also at the Astoria7. Australia, September 2012

The room was new, modern and spacious with a large modern bathroom. Very close to the bus route to take you to the boulevard. Staff very friendly. U.S.A., September 2012

Loved the decor, atmosphere and friendly staff, a must stay if in San Sebastian. Ireland, September 2012

Very comfortable room with helpful staff. Delicious breakfast and good food served in the bar. Very close to bus stop and pleasant stroll along river to the old town. Australia, September 2012

Location was good as it allows you a nice walk into the old part so that you can't really miss out on any shops, bars, etc. Staff uniforms were very smart. Good food at great prices. Great bathroom/shower facility. Japan, August 2012

Great hotel with movie-star theme giving the hotel a very distinctive feel as you walk into the rooms. Distance from main beach is only 5 minutes by taxi. Australia, August 2012

The concept for the hotel - celebrating the San Sebastian film festival is terrific! The stay was extremely helpful and welcoming! Canada, July 2012

Lovely hotel in great location. Easy to walk to beach, shops and restaurants. Modern, clean and loved the movie theme! Family Room was wonderful for our 3 adult children. Staff always helpful and pleasant. Highly recommended. New Zealand, July 2012

The rooms were clean and modern. The design was interesting. Beds were very comfortable. The location was very convenient.  U.K., July 2012

Great location near transit, nice rooms, helpful staff, good restaurant in hotel for breakfast and "pintxos." Overall good value for the price. U.S.A., July 2012

Very convenient location next to the bus terminal and only a couple of minutes from the train station. [...] The hotel is very new and modern. I would rate it as 4* plus. Staff is friendly and helpful. Free wifi all around the building. Turkey, July 2012

Very good location, good parking facilities, good breakfast, friendly staff. Belgium, May 2012

High-tech chic style, movie theme was fun. The room was decent size, wireless internet worked very well. The property looked brand new with very modern fixtures. U.S.A., May 2012

Chic, high standard, friendly, parking excellent, location good, interesting, clean, high standard service, ambience, relatively inexpensive, efficient booking on Internet, comfortable. Australia, May 2012

Really nice room with a huge, comfy king-size bed. Luxurious feeling in the hotel, with a nice lounge by the entrance, and cool film theme throughout the hotel. Clean and fresh. Nice breakfast. Affordable parking is a bonus. Sweden, May 2012

This hip hotel on a film star theme is modern, clean and well maintained. It is within walking distance to the old town and centre of the city but also has good access by bus. Free wifi in the room is very useful. Australia, May 2012

The bed is perfect, design and the lounge next to the entrance is very nice. Spain, April 2012

Staff was very helpful and very friendly. Rooms were of a good size and very clean and comfortable. Ireland, April 2012

I liked the theming of the lobby and the lounge area. The bathrooms were very nice including the bathtub and shower. Location was good for walking and the shops that were nearby. Canada, April 2012

Clean, comfortable, well located for bus arrival from Bilbao. Great reception, staff, quirky theme, good food, reasonable price. U.K., March 2012

Experience was awesome. I will be back with my wife soon. U.S.A., March 201

Loved staying here. The re-design of the hotel has been done very well with a modern tasteful and entertaining result. We found it very welcoming and really enjoyed being here. [...]. Australia, February 2012

Felt very warm welcome as usual at Astoria while it was freezing in San Sebastian! Best choise you can get for price - quality. Helpful, friendly staff, nice decorated rooms, spotless clean, good location. Belgium, February 2012

Beautiful room. Very quiet hotel. Friendly staff. Netherlands, February 2012

The rooms were great, staff very helpful and friendly. Very clean and well designed. The lounge is very comfortable and the bar/cafe has great food. U.K., January 2012

 Very comfortable, front desk staff were extremely helpful, loved that they had a huge range of DVDs to watch. Australia, January 2012

 Service was great. All staff is friendly. Close to many tapas bars and local gourmet stores. Easy access to the major points in the city. Recommended!! U.S.A, January 2012   Excellent, rooms were luxurious, the service was excellent. Beds were gigantic as were the bathrooms with excellent showers and heated floors as well. Australia, January 2012

 

2011

The hotel was conveniently located near the bus station. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and the rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Good value for money. Australia, December 2011

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were very, very clean. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom! Modern and chic design. USA, December 2011

Very nice hotel and excellent service throughout all areas with real value for money. Easy access to major roads out of San Sebastian and short distance to mountain regions. U.K., December 2011

I can't recommend this hotel strongly enough. The rooms are spacious, well lit, comfortable and quiet. Excellent service - our room was spotless every day...even on a day where we left the hotel very late due to enjoying a little too much of the delicious local wine the night before (this really impressed us). Location is terrific for those who want to feel like you're staying in a more authentic part of town. There's a great wine and food shop nearby, plenty of cafes for a morning coffee or a nightcap after a night wandering through old town. The hotel also provides a list of their favorite tapas spots - three that we tried from their list turned into our favorites, too! U.K, November 2011

Handy spot near both bus to Bilbao & easy walk to train station. We stayed in the Julia Roberts room which is roomy and overlooks the street, relaxed part of town at night. Some Wifi reception issues, best near the door. The young male staff on reception were fantastic - great sense of humor, desire to assist, good recommendations for eating locally. Good burger & fries from room service. The Basque yoghurt at breakfast divine. U.K., November 2011

We enjoyed the two nights stay at the hotel Astoria 7. It's modern, clean and offers a fantastic breakfast (great variety including healthy products). The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful and speak very good english. Our room was very nice, the bed & linen good quality and the bath room quit big. The cosy furnished library offers two computers with internet connection (free of charge), lots of books/daily newspapers as well as a large variety of DVD's (mainly great movie classics) which can be taken to the room for viewing (also free of charge).(…). U.K., November 2011

This was a great hotel, very euromodern & clean, great breakfast and 20 minutes walk from the boardwalk.U.K., November 2011

More than pleasantly surprised to discover the Astoria 7 Hotel in San Sebastian with its theme on Movie Characters. We stayed in the Stephen Spielberg room which was modern , clean and a very comfortable bed. The Library on the Ground Floor for guests is worth a look. Excellent value and a wonderful City.U.K., October 2011

10 minute walk from the old town, Astoria 7 offers a quiet, understated getaway suitable for friends, groups and couples. Enjoyed the stay. U.K., October 2011

Great unique touches throughout the hotel. Nice, friendly staff and conveniently located!U.K., October 2011

Loved that the hotel's decor was centred around films and the San Sebastian's film festival. Our Room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated and had a great bathroom/shower area. (..). The hotel also had a great library/relaxation area just off the reception where you could relax reading a book or do some free interneting on the hotel's 2 computers. Breakfast was good too. The hotel is situated approx 20 mins walk from the old part of the city which was fine for us as (...). I would definitely come back and stay at this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. U.K., October 2011

Good cafe/bar. Directly opposite bus stop in to town. U.K., October 2011

Very nice, new, clean & modern hotel with plenty of amenities at a reasonable price. Good location, easy bus trip, taxi ride or good 20 minute walk from city centre and parte vieja. Professional, friendly and helpful staff.U.K., October 2011

Location. It was 15 mins from the centre of San Sebastian so there was sufficient privacy. Great tapas at their restaurant. U.K., October 2011

The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had the best ventilation I have ever had in a hotel room. While my husband showered, I could get ready since the mirror did not fog. And I really liked having the small magnifying mirror in the bathroom as well. U.K., October 2011

Staff were very helpful. Gym was handy and rooms were fantastic and spacious. It was exciting to have the Barcelona football team stay there! Australia,  September  2011

What makes the interior and the rooms design unique and very special, is the dedication to the movie actors and directors. For any fan of cinema, this is impressive and outstanding. Congratulations to Hotel ASTORIA 7. San Sebastian is entitled to be proud of this Hotel. Haiti, September 2011

I was impressed by this beautiful hotel. It was quite simply great. I really would like to stay there again, actually can´t wait until I get to visit San Sebastian again and Astoria 7. Remarkable ambience and design. Sweden, September 2011

The movie theming is very well done and makes it an interesting hotel to stay in U.K., September 2011

Fantastic hotel, which has a very strong "film" theme throughout. We stayed in the Meryl  Streep room and it had the most comfortable bed, fantastic showers and bath, in fact as I said in the title "I can't fault it." There were 7 of us (four adults, two teenagers and a 7 year old) and it suited all our needs. The rooms were extremely spacious, sound proofed and very comfortable with TVs, i-pod docks and DVD players. There were a host of DVDs you could pick up from the lounge and the hotel was big enough and so well laid out that it accommodated a rather fidgetty 7 year old extremely well and the teenagers could do there own thing in the sound proofed rooms and not bother anyone. The adjacent cafe was very cheap and great fun (…). Although about a 15 min walk from the old town, this was not a problem; there were no hills and with all the tapas bars you dive in and out of I think it was a welcomed walk. Staff were absolutely fantastic (…). U.K., September 2011

Brand new hotel, very clean and very friendly staff. Didn't have the supperior room I booked available so upgraded me to the suite. Very happy with my stay overall and can only recommend. Location is good as well, not a fancy part of the city but only 10-15 min walk from the old part. U.K., August 2011

The front office staff among the best of hotels I have visited in Spain. on checking in I dropped my shoulder bad and a bottle of wine broke; the guys were very quick to help me with it and even though it was my problem insisted on helping me clean up the mess and pick up some broken glass in my bag. Also hotel is very new and funky, and it will give you a good leg stretch walking a couple of k's down to the beach. Singapour, August 2011

I booked Hotel Astoria based on the feedback given by other travellers.They all said it was great except for it was a 15 minute walk from the centre of town.Believe me you need to walk as much as possible in San Sebastian,as the food is so good.Location is not a problem at all.Hotel has a nice atmosphere,and the movie memorabillia is a nice touch.Would definitely recommend this hotel if staying in San Sebastian. Australia, August 2011

The hotel was fantastic in terms of both its presentation and friendliness of staff. The library was amazing and provided a wealth of information on the stars featuring in the hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble. The location was great! I would love to stay there again whenever we are back in San Sebastian. U.K., August 2011

We had a great stay at this original hotel and can only recommend it to friends & family! Belgium, August 2011

Prior to arrival I was a little concerned that the 'themed' hotel maybe tacky but it was really modern and tasteful. The bedroom was very large and comfortable, superb decor, the bed was huge. It was a little on the dark side with the mood lighting but not off putting. The bathroom suite was very good standard, good shower and bath, double sinks. The whole hotel was spotless. Breakfast included was excellent with huge range of food including a 'free from' range. We pre- booked the garage which was perfect and worth the money. The free use of pc and internet was extremely useful, as were the umbrellas! U.K., August 2011

We had a great stay in Astoria 7 and would definitely return if we came back to San Sebastian. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. It was very good value for the standard of comfort. Not a huge amount of clothes storage but completely adequate for our two day stay. Although breakfast and car parking were not included in the price, lots of extras were, such as beach towels, the hire of films, wifi etc. The sitting area downstairs is stylish and comfortable and has two computers, and has books, magazines and newspapers. The location is about 20 mins walk from the old town but we enjoyed the walk, through the Centro Romantico or towards the beach. U.K., July 2011

Loved the movie theme and special movie theatre for guests. Ireland, July 2011

Unique with the cinema theme. Very nice to have a selection of DVDs available for free use. We liked the hotel very much. Staff also very friendly and helpful. Germany, July 2011

Hotel very convenient to city centre,very clean and room very comfortable.Service staff very helpful. Ireland, July 2011

The themeing so creative design excellence, the lobby lounge in particular.helpful stafff who spoke English, great coffe and food in the causal cafe, parking availabilty and easy walking to all locations. Australia, July 2011

Very modern, nice and original room, clean and just good size. Very pleasan balcony, Very nice surroundings. Helpful stuff. Close to regional bus stations. Canada, July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay with Hotel Asotoria. The room was clean and spacious, the staff extremely helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good. It was a little bit of a walk to reach the old part of the city or the beach. That wasn't a problem for us but might mean some people would need to take the bus or get a taxi.We would definitely recommend the hotel to friends or use it again if coming to San Sebastian. We liked the film star theme! U.K., June 2011

The Hotel was ideally placed in the city and had a secure underground car park. Everything we wanted to see was within easy walking distance. Breakfast was plentiful and set in a clean restaurant. The staff were very polite and helpful. An ideal place to stay. U.K., June 2011

The cinema theme and the large and well equipped bathrooms. Portugal, June 2011

Lovely film themed hotel. Stayed for 3 nights. Very helpful staff and comfortable room In an amazing city which is foodie paradise. Pleasant 15 min leisurely walk from the old town and the beach which is useful to burn off calories after the mandatory pinxhos crawl in old town Would definitely stay here again. Underground onsite parking a godsend as parking seemed to be a bit of a nightmare with traffic warden everywhere. U.K., June 2011

Centrally located within easy access to the central bus station with direct transport to airport in Bilbao. Good bus transport to the old town - Boulevard bus stop. Great themed rooms and very relaxed lobby area. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. This is my second stay and will go there again if the price is right. Ireland, June 2011

Reception was friendly, professional and flexible. We had a small problem problem at check in which was handled in a prompted and courteous manner. The hotel decor was modern and well done. We used the gym and found it to be sufficient - treadmill, rower, elliptical, gym ball, free weights and weight machine. The dvd library came in handy and there were some children s titles in several languages. The hotel is a pleasant 12 minutes walking distance to the old center and less to the sea. Or a five euro taxi fare. Lot of play parks in the area. Luxembourg, June 2011

Stylish modern hotel close to the centre of San Sebastián. Large, well appointed rooms and immaculately clean, nice bar which does great tapas. The staff were excellent and even helped me find a ticket for the Real Scociedad match I had come to watch, all in all a very good experience. U.K., May 2011

The hotel was a great surprise: extremely clean, modern, a great and comfortable living room with unlimited supply of books, dvds.... the movies theme gave it a very original touch... I was truly surprised and found it great value for money. U.K., May 2011

Great location. 15 minutes walk to the old city. Stayed 2 nights instead one.We loved the concept. Canadá, May 2011

Actor-themed rooms and history of the san sebastian film festival make for a unique experience. Otherwise everything functioned like clockwork. U.K., May 2011

The staff was helpful - the hotel had a clean high tech look U.S., May 2011

The reception staff were so helpful to us during our stay! Hotel was lovely and clean. Ireland, April 2011

Watching the films. The bed was very comfy. The breakfast was delicous. The staff were very friendly especially the man with the teeth braces. The Hotel was bright and cheerful. A wonderful ambiance. UK, April 2011

Nice design. Helpful staff. UK, April 2011

Reception staff were really excellent, all of them, also the loung room with computers, dvd and sofas worked really well. U.K., March 2011

Interesting with all of its film memorabilia. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay here. We recommended it to our friends and they have booked to stay here too.x U.K., March 2011

The location was great for visiting the city and the staff made the difference! Execellent! U.K., March 2011

It was in a very convenient situation in the city. Very clean and staff very friendly. The car park is an added bonus. U.K., March 2011

The concept of the hotel is great and it is very well thought out from the reception area to the rooms. The reading room at the hotel was great. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good. U.K. February 2011

Great location for town centre and football stadium, unusual movie theme throughout, spacious and clean. Car parking fine. U.K. February 2011

The room was gorgeous - great furniture, space and comfort ... and a fab bathroom too. Australia January 2011