95% recommend us
You can also give us your opinion here, after your stay with us.


TripAdvisor Certificate of Exellence in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014
TripAdvisor’s Top ten most curious hotels in Europe

Guest reviews


This hotel is very good for a City stay. We found it difficult ti find but the good news is that they have underground parking. The price was good and the rooms good and clean. The breakfast is really good, and service good. Well worth a stay. UK, October 2015

We stayed at the Astoria for a couple of nights as part of a business trip. After a lot of travelling, it was a welcome surprise to arrive at this hotel. Clearly a huge effort and great expense has been spent in making the Astoria a first class hotel. It's in easy walking distance to the shops and the beach. Check out the life-like statue in reception... I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. West Sussex, September 2015

I loved this hotel - it's quirky without being obnoxious...the cinema theme is done very well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and modern, with a large marble bathroom. The hotel itself is a bit of a walk from the center and old town, but not too bad - only about 15 minutes and it's a very direct and easy walk. The only problem was that the wifi in the room did not work properly. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed. US, August 2015

Very affordable, comfortable, conveniently located next to the bus station, nice decor. 20-30 min walk to the Old Town and La Concha beach, or you can grab the 28 Boulevard bus from just across the street. Large collection of free classic DVD movies for rainy evenings. Would definitely stay here again. US, July 2015

This is an excellent hotel. The rooms are clean and new, and quiet. Service is good. It's quite a way from the beach and Old Town, but there's a bus stop in front of hotel where you can catch a short ride to both. What really adds value is their restaurant- very unassuming but fantastic food quality. Their chef could handle any restaurant in town! We've stayed in places closer, like in Gros by the river, but in the end you walk so much more! The bus is quick and clean. We were hesitant at first, but definitely don't regret staying at Astoria! US, June 2015

Great, stylish hotel. Clean, quirky, cosy. Rooms were very quiet and ideally located (ten minutes stroll into the centre and thirty seconds from bus stop if taking bus to and from Bilbao airport). The bar downstairs is very good, amazing tapas, great coffee and very well-priced. UK, May 2015

12 of us stayed for 4 nights. The hotel was great, very clean, nicely styled and in an excellent location. The front desk were really helpful throughout our stay. The food in this place was of a good standard. Overall I can't pick anything wrong with it so I am giving it a 5* because it deserves it. Leeds, April 2015

Usually I'm pretty picky about the hotels, but with this one I have to say I couldn't anything wrong. Large rooms, free and fast WiFi, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast. Made-to-order hot dishes, fresh orange juice, Lots of fruits. Staff altitude exemplary, very polite and friendly. If I would to complain about anything, it is a bit far from the old town, beach, etc. About 12-15 minutes walk. But there are buses available. Poland, Mars 2015

The Astoria is a centrally located hotel which is theme based whereby every room is designed around a particular Hollywood star of yesteryear. The décor is quirky and the overall style is boutique. The breakfast is good and the hotel public spaces and bedrooms are spotless. vet friendly staff. Ireland, February 2015

The hotel offers clean, spacious rooms with modern bathrooms. The location is about 15 minutes from the old town, which is the perfect distance to get rid of some extra calories, that one definitely takes after spending a few hours in the cozy and authentic bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good, offering plenty of variety. And last but not least, staff was very helpful, kind and friendly. We definitely will be back! Belgium, January 2015


Outstanding option! Recommended! Yes - it is probably not an A location on the waterfront ... But it scores A's everywhere else... And transportation downtown is an easy bus ride a few meters outside the hotel with buses that pass every 5 minutes. Furthermore, parking is available and ample (not always the case in these locations). Modern, clean rooms with great showers and water pressure. I loved the library room as a place to get some work done. The "movie" theme works well and is not overdone - just enough to make it appealing and give it a good storyline (site is former movie theatre site) without it becoming overwhelming. Service at the front desk was great - friendly and efficient. I did notice some of the tour bus guests - but they did not affect my stay at all. The cafe is a great option for morning coffee and croissants - packed with locals. Service at the cafe is outstanding thanks to Bruno and others. December 2014

San Sebastián is a great city , this was my first visit to the city and didn't no much about the culture it was a great weekend to top it all Astoria 7 was a top hotel the cinema theme was great we stopped in Steven Spielberg's room . The hotel is in a good location not to far from the sea front with plenty of bars on route I would recommend the city and hotel. To keep the cinema theme "I will be back" UK, November 2014

we booked three rooms for three nights and we were not disappointed at all. The rooms were spacious and everything well thought out to make one's stay so comfortable. Check in staff were friendly and helpful suggesting restaurants and providing good information on transport,etc. The location couldn't have been better. Bus stop for buses to the old town was just across the road, bus ticket office was also across the road and the bus terminal for intercity just one minute away from the hotel. We were able to catch the bus to Bilbao from there. Highly recommended. Singapore, October 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, which wasn't long enough. This is a great hotel about a 10 min walk into the centre of town. We loved the film themed rooms (we stayed in the Mel Gibson room) it was comfortable and well equipped. You can rent DVDs and they even had a cinema room! We didn't eat at the hotel as the food in San Sebastian was so cheap at the Pintxos bars and a decent white wine was 1.20 euro a glass! Definately coming back here - we loved it! UK, September 2014

WOW!! If arriving by bus it is an excellent location. A lovely 20 minute walk into town or access the frequent buses right outside. Quiet, modern room and extremely comfortable beds with nice linen. Bathroom to die for - wonderful shower (the hairdryer is really heavy so bring your own if you need to). Spotlessly clean. Didn't have breakfast but the Astoria Cafe was very nice. Selected movies from the library-free of charge. What a nice touch. The staff were exceptional - very helpful. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and polite. The young men at reception actually stood up when they spoke to us - very polite and respectful. By far the best hotel I have stayed in on 3 trips through Europe!! New Zealand, August 2014

This hotel used to be a movie theatre and all the rooms are named after famous actors or directors. When I first went down to reception, I thought I saw an Alfred Hitchcock look-alike sitting on a settee. It was him! The rooms are very lavish however you can get quite chilly as a result of the air-conditioning and blankets are not provided by default so I advise asking for them. Breakfast was going to cost a fortune so we went to the bar on the other side of the side street that the hotel is on and got a great price on a croissant and cappuccino combination. The hotel is about a 10-minute bus ride to Casco Antiguo, the old part of town where many of the good restaurants are. The staff will tell you the right bus numbers.   Canada, July 2014

What a find!!! We loved this hotel from the get go. The room was spotless, spacious, modern and delightful. Perfection from the moment we arrived until we left. I highly recommend the restaurant for lunch or dinner and definitely include the delicious and extremely generous breakfast. 2 thumbs up for this fabulous place!!!   United Kingdom, June 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a visit to the city. Hotel is a 20 min walk to old town but plenty in between. Hotel is modern clean and tidy. Good breakfast, decent bar. Good restaurants nearby. Front desk staff were all very, very helpful and make good reconditions for our dinner requirements. Bed comfortable, shower was excellent. Would stay here again.   United Kingdom, May 2014

The Astoria is a very pleasant, clean and stylish hotel, our room was very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Certainly we will stay there again. Although a bit far from the centre of town, it is a strait walk to the centre and gives you an opportunity for a 20 minutes walk. There are also buses to the centre. United Kingdom, April 2014

Have stayed here twice now and been happy each time. The rooms are clean and of a reasonable size. each room has a different cinema related theme. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was varied and tasty. It is very close to the bus station which was a good way to arrive from Bilbao airport. There is about a 20 minute walk into the harbour and old town where most of the bars and restaurants are. If you don't want to walk there seemed to be a frequent bus service or taxis which the front desk would help with. United Kingdom, March 2014

We generally prefer more 'boutique' style intimate hotels, but the Astoria 7 is a special place and a real complement to the Donostia/San Sebastien experience. We've stayed there twice, once last winter and again in February, 2014. Situated a 20-minute walk from the port, Astoria 7 successfully combines contemporary design and real human comfort. The staff speak english well, and there's underground, secured parking. The Hollywood theme captivates and you find yourself reading all the names of the rooms on the mural in Reception! We stayed in Lauren Bacall. Great sized room well priced. Breakfasts are buffet-style and excellent. The walk to center-city takes you by great shops and restaurants. As San Sébastien is an international destination for food, choose carefully! But everywhere we went was excellent and I was grateful to have a digestive walk back to the hotel. I have not seen or experienced the pool or spa, so have refrained from rating them.   United Kingdom, February 2014

We were pleased to have booked the Astoria: themed for the movies (San Seb is a major movie town) and each room is dedicated to a different star. The lobby had a life size of Hitchcock and the Christmas tree was made out of film tape...witty. It is a 20 minute walk into town or a 6Euro taxi ride. Breakfast was more than good, rooms were clean - although far too hot for us and the air conditioning was dodgy. The Astoria was a great choice for us as we wanted to take the bus to Bilbao on one of our three days in San Sebastian: the bus station is literally over the road. Thoroughly happy to recommend.   Australia, January 2014


The Astoria is themed for the movies. Each room designated for a star. The Lobby features a life size model of Hitchcock. The rooms are reasonably sized with excellent bath rooms and adequate storage. There is a large library including multiple dvd's for use in the rooms. The hotel although on a main route is well insulated and quiet at night. The bar serves good pintxos and raciones if needed but it is only a short bus ride 1.60 euros to the old town where great food is everywhere. The restaurant while we were there did some special evening meals but seems to be more in use at lunch. All in all a very good hotel well situated just out of the main town and close to buses and trains. There is a wonderful deli just a few doors away.  Lutterworth, December 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Astoria7 hotel! I was in San Sebastian for the 2013 marathon and I stayed there for 3 nights. I love the movie theme of the hotel and the different styled rooms and the different person in each room from the film industry. The hotel is super clean and modern, the restaurant area is lovely and always bustling with a good vibe! It not a luxurious hotel, but definitely worth the 4 stars it has been given. It was right around the corner from the bus station and the marathon start so it was in a perfect location for me. The walk to the old town wasn't too bad at all :o) in fact it was very nice during the day. The staff were super helpful and nice. I honestly don't have a bad word to stay about the hotel, definitely worth a stay :o) United Kingdom, November 2013

This hotel has a strong move theme; each room is named after a movie star or director. We stayed in the Michael Douglas room, which was decorated with photos of that actor. The standard rooms are a bit small; I'd go for a superior room next time. But the bed was comfortable, the bath was OK, and the location was convenient and quiet. we didn't subscribe to the breakfast, but it appears to be very reasonable.  United Kingdom, October 2013

Staff were really helpful and the hotel was uniquely designed. United Kingdom, September 2013

Very efficient & friendly reception staff on arrival. Excellent superior room. Very comfortable bed. Good A/C. Spotlessly clean & quiet. Excellent breakfast with eggs to order. United Kingdom, August 2013

Fantastic hotel, loved the room and the film themed décor! The staff was very helpful and the hotel was only a short 15-20 minute walk from the beach and the old town. USA, July 2013

Good location very new and well kept beautiful lobby with movie theme lovely cafeteria next door. Israel, June 2013

 Lovely room, good restaurant. Right near bus station and short walk to Trains. Local bus to Old town at the door and walkable if preferred. New Zealand, May 2013

 Everything, check in was easy and fast. Room was comfortable. Gym was well equipped and in full working order  […]  I would stay here again. Ireland, April 2013

 My wife and I arrived in San Sebastian by bus and found the hotel very conveniently located next to the bus depot […] We stayed in a King room (901) and it was really good. It was probably one of the quietest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Australia, March 2013

A very good hotel with all the facilities I needed for business and shopping, and close to the football stadium for my work. U.K., February 2013

Modern and clean. Great variety at breakfast. Kuwait, January 2013


Perfect hotel! Excellent stay! Very comfortable and delicious!!! Staff are very, very, friendly and professional! Thanks. Russia, December 2012

Superb staff, always helpful and really kind. Staff went extra mile when I needed their help on something. Can’t thank them enough. Whenever I go back to San Sebastian I will stay there. U.K., November 2012

The hotel was excellent. The movie theme applied to every room, and made for a unique experience. The rooms were spacious and well layed out and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good. U.S.A., October 2012

Loved the decor, atmosphere and friendly staff, a must stay if in San Sebastian. Ireland, September 2012

Location was good as it allows you a nice walk into the old part so that you can't really miss out on any shops, bars, etc. Staff uniforms were very smart. Good food at great prices. Great bathroom/shower facility. Japan, August 2012

Lovely hotel in great location. Easy to walk to beach, shops and restaurants. Modern, clean and loved the movie theme! Family Room was wonderful for our 3 adult children. Staff always helpful and pleasant. Highly recommended. New Zealand, July 2012

Our 4 night stay in this large hotel was perfect, good beds, very clean, and the staff friendly. The location is a 20 minute walk from the main city , but frequent number 26 and 28 buses depart from outside the hotel, and cost 1.45 euros a trip. If you stay here, please consider on Thurs, Fri, and Saturday nights, the hotel restaurant is open for dinner, the food was excellent, 25 euros for 3 courses, including a bottle of wine. This more than compared with the famous eating places in town. UK, June 2012

Really nice room with a huge, comfy king-size bed. Luxurious feeling in the hotel, with a nice lounge by the entrance, and cool film theme throughout the hotel. Clean and fresh. Nice breakfast. Affordable parking is a bonus. Sweden, May 2012

I liked the theming of the lobby and the lounge area. The bathrooms were very nice including the bathtub and shower. Location was good for walking and the shops that were nearby. Canada, April 2012

Clean, comfortable, well located for bus arrival from Bilbao. Great reception, staff, quirky theme, good food, reasonable price.U.K., March 2012

Felt very warm welcome as usual at Astoria while it was freezing in San Sebastian! Best choise you can get for price - quality. Helpful, friendly staff, nice decorated rooms, spotless clean, good location. Belgium, February 2012

Excellent, rooms were luxurious, the service was excellent. Beds were gigantic as were the bathrooms with excellent showers and heated floors as well. Australia, January 2012


The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were very, very clean. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom! Modern and chic design. USA, December 2011

I can't recommend this hotel strongly enough. The rooms are spacious, well lit, comfortable and quiet. Excellent service - our room was spotless every day...even on a day where we left the hotel very late due to enjoying a little too much of the delicious local wine the night before (this really impressed us). Location is terrific for those who want to feel like you're staying in a more authentic part of town. There's a great wine and food shop nearby, plenty of cafes for a morning coffee or a nightcap after a night wandering through old town. The hotel also provides a list of their favorite tapas spots - three that we tried from their list turned into our favorites, too! U.K, November 2011

Loved that the hotel's decor was centred around films and the San Sebastian's film festival. Our Room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated and had a great bathroom/shower area. (..). The hotel also had a great library/relaxation area just off the reception where you could relax reading a book or do some free interneting on the hotel's 2 computers. Breakfast was good too. The hotel is situated approx 20 mins walk from the old part of the city which was fine for us as (...). I would definitely come back and stay at this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. U.K., October 2011

What makes the interior and the rooms design unique and very special, is the dedication to the movie actors and directors. For any fan of cinema, this is impressive and outstanding. Congratulations to Hotel ASTORIA 7. San Sebastian is entitled to be proud of this Hotel. Haiti, September 2011

I booked Hotel Astoria based on the feedback given by other travellers.They all said it was great except for it was a 15 minute walk from the centre of town.Believe me you need to walk as much as possible in San Sebastian,as the food is so good. Location is not a problem at all.Hotel has a nice atmosphere,and the movie memorabillia is a nice touch.Would definitely recommend this hotel if staying in San Sebastian. Australia, August 2011

The themeing so creative design excellence, the lobby lounge in particular. Helpful staff who spoke English, great coffe and food in the causal cafe, parking availabilty and easy walking to all locations. Australia, July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay with Hotel Astoria. The room was clean and spacious, the staff extremely helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good. It was a little bit of a walk to reach the old part of the city or the beach. That wasn't a problem for us but might mean some people would need to take the bus or get a taxi.We would definitely recommend the hotel to friends or use it again if coming to San Sebastian. We liked the film star theme! U.K., June 2011

Stylish modern hotel close to the centre of San Sebastián. Large, well appointed rooms and immaculately clean, nice bar which does great tapas. The staff were excellent and even helped me find a ticket for the Real Sociedad match I had come to watch, all in all a very good experience. U.K., May 2011

Watching the films. The bed was very comfy. The breakfast was delicious. The staff were very friendly especially the man with the teeth braces. The Hotel was bright and cheerful. A wonderful ambiance. UK, April 2011

It was in a very convenient situation in the city. Very clean and staff very friendly. The car park is an added bonus. U.K., March 2011

The concept of the hotel is great and it is very well thought out from the reception area to the rooms. The reading room at the hotel was great. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good. U.K., February 2011

The room was gorgeous - great furniture, space and comfort ... and a fab bathroom too. Australia, January 2011