Reviews

95% recommend us
You can also give us your opinion here, after your stay with us.

RECOMMENDED BY:

TripAdvisor Certificate of Exellence in 2011, 2012 and 2013
TripAdvisor’s Top ten most curious hotels in Europe

Guest reviews


Good quality of hotel with comfortable, stylish rooms. Very helpful staff. Good location for getting the bus to/ from Bilbao. Whilst it is 20 min walk to the old town the walk is pleasant & there are many nice parks, shops, bars & restaurants in the new town on the way.  United Kingdom, October 2013

Staff were really helpful and the hotel was uniquely designed. United Kingdom, September 2013

Very nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood. only 10 minutes to the city centre. very good atmosphere. Netherlands, August 2013

Very efficient & friendly reception staff on arrival. Excellent superior room. Very comfortable bed. Good A/C. Spotlessly clean & quiet. Excellent breakfast with eggs to order. United Kingdom, August 2013


Fantastic hotel, loved the room and the film themed décor! The staff was very helpful and the hotel was only a short 15-20 minute walk from the beach and the old town. USA, July 2013

Nice design, good staff and location close to busstation. veru quiet for good time sleeping. Netherlands, July 2013

Trendy hotel, lovely staff & nice tapas bar. Ireland, June 2013


Good location very new and well kept beautiful lobby with movie theme lovely cafeteria next door. Israel, June 2013

Great boutique hotel, lots of charm, friendly staff. US, May 2013

 Lovely room, good restaurant. Right near bus station and short walk to Trains.Local bus to Old town at the door and walkable if preferred. New Zealand, May 2013
  
 If you're planning to tour around the region by bus, this is the hotel to stay at. We took buses to Bilbao and Hondarribia from the bus station, which is conveniently only a couple blocks away[…]. US, April 2013
 
 Everything, check in was easy and fast. Room was comfortable. Gym was well equipped and in full working order  […]  I would stay here again. Ireland, April 2013
 
 My wife and I arrived in San Sebastian by bus and found the hotel very conveniently located next to the bus depot […] We stayed in a King room (901) and it was really good. It was probably one of the quietest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Australia, March 2013
 
 It’s a modern, urban and unique. Staff on the reception and restaurant was professional and friendly. Food in the restaurant : delicious. Spain, March 2013
 
 Great contemporary decor. A lobby where you could stay forever reading a book on San Sebastian rainy days. Brazil, March 2013

Everything! The food was excellent and the proximity to the old town whether on foot or by bus. Close enough to everything. U.K., February 2013

The modern design of the hotel, the friendly efficient reception staff and the convenient location. Our room was clean and comfortable. Australia, February 2013

A very good hotel with all the facilities I needed for business and shopping, and close to the football stadium for my work. U.K., February 2013

Comfortable room at reasonable price with good transport links.The breakfast was very goodand good starter for the day. U.K., February 2013

Modern and clean. Great variety at breakfast. Kuwait, January 2013

Perfect hotel! Excellent stay! Very comfortable and delicious!!! Staff are very, very, friendly and professional! Thanks. Russia, December 2012

Superb staff, always helpful and really kind. Staff went extra mile when I needed their help on something. Can’t thank them enough. Whenever I go back to San Sebastian I will stay there. U.K., November 2012

Lovely room, excellent breakfasts and I liked the fact they had a fitness room. U.K., November 2012

Staff was very friendly and always willing to help. I loved the design of the rooms and the lobby. The tapas at the cafeteria were also great. Brazil, October 2012

The hotel was excellent. The movie theme applied to every room, and made for a unique experience. The rooms were spacious and well layed out and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good. U.S.A., October 2012

Very clean. Very helpful and friendly staff. Decent breakfast. King size bed. Safe and convenient parking slot. Taiwan, October 2012

[…]Our room was extremely comfortable and quite large - superior and very good value for the price. Staff was always courteous and welcoming - San Sebastian is quite beautiful and would certainly look at staying there again and also at the Astoria7. Australia, September 2012

The room was new, modern and spacious with a large modern bathroom. Very close to the bus route to take you to the boulevard. Staff very friendly. U.S.A., September 2012

Loved the decor, atmosphere and friendly staff, a must stay if in San Sebastian. Ireland, September 2012

Very comfortable room with helpful staff. Delicious breakfast and good food served in the bar. Very close to bus stop and pleasant stroll along river to the old town. Australia, September 2012

Location was good as it allows you a nice walk into the old part so that you can't really miss out on any shops, bars, etc. Staff uniforms were very smart. Good food at great prices. Great bathroom/shower facility. Japan, August 2012

Great hotel with movie-star theme giving the hotel a very distinctive feel as you walk into the rooms. Distance from main beach is only 5 minutes by taxi. Australia, August 2012

The concept for the hotel - celebrating the San Sebastian film festival is terrific! The stay was extremely helpful and welcoming! Canada, July 2012

Lovely hotel in great location. Easy to walk to beach, shops and restaurants. Modern, clean and loved the movie theme! Family Room was wonderful for our 3 adult children. Staff always helpful and pleasant. Highly recommended. New Zealand, July 2012

The rooms were clean and modern. The design was interesting. Beds were very comfortable. The location was very convenient.  U.K., July 2012

Great location near transit, nice rooms, helpful staff, good restaurant in hotel for breakfast and "pintxos." Overall good value for the price. U.S.A., July 2012

Very convenient location next to the bus terminal and only a couple of minutes from the train station. [...] The hotel is very new and modern. I would rate it as 4* plus. Staff is friendly and helpful. Free wifi all around the building. Turkey, July 2012
Very good location, good parking facilities, good breakfast, friendly staff. Belgium, May 2012
 
High-tech chic style, movie theme was fun. The room was decent size, wireless internet worked very well. The property looked brand new with very modern fixtures. U.S.A., May 2012

Chic, high standard, friendly, parking excellent, location good, interesting, clean, high standard service, ambience, relatively inexpensive, efficient booking on Internet, comfortable. Australia, May 2012

Really nice room with a huge, comfy king-size bed. Luxurious feeling in the hotel, with a nice lounge by the entrance, and cool film theme throughout the hotel. Clean and fresh. Nice breakfast. Affordable parking is a bonus. Sweden, May 2012

This hip hotel on a film star theme is modern, clean and well maintained. It is within walking distance to the old town and centre of the city but also has good access by bus. Free wifi in the room is very useful. Australia, May 2012

The bed is perfect, design and the lounge next to the entrance is very nice. Spain, April 2012

Staff was very helpful and very friendly. Rooms were of a good size and very clean and comfortable. Ireland, April 2012

I liked the theming of the lobby and the lounge area. The bathrooms were very nice including the bathtub and shower. Location was good for walking and the shops that were nearby. Canada, April 2012

Clean, comfortable, well located for bus arrival from Bilbao. Great reception, staff, quirky theme, good food, reasonable price. U.K., March 2012

Experience was awesome. I will be back with my wife soon. U.S.A., March 201

Loved staying here. The re-design of the hotel has been done very well with a modern tasteful and entertaining result. We found it very welcoming and really enjoyed being here. [...]. Australia, February 2012

Felt very warm welcome as usual at Astoria while it was freezing in San Sebastian! Best choise you can get for price - quality. Helpful, friendly staff, nice decorated rooms, spotless clean, good location. Belgium, February 2012

Beautiful room. Very quiet hotel. Friendly staff. Netherlands, February 2012

The rooms were great, staff very helpful and friendly. Very clean and well designed. The lounge is very comfortable and the bar/cafe has great food. U.K., January 2012
 
Very comfortable, front desk staff were extremely helpful, loved that they had a huge range of DVDs to watch. Australia, January 2012
 
Service was great. All staff is friendly. Close to many tapas bars and local gourmet stores. Easy access to the major points in the city. Recommended!! U.S.A, January 2012
 
Excellent, rooms were luxurious, the service was excellent. Beds were gigantic as were the bathrooms with excellent showers and heated floors as well. Australia, January 2012

The hotel was conveniently located near the bus station. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and the rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Good value for money.

Australia, December 2011
 
 
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were very, very clean. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom! Modern and chic design.

USA, December 2011
 
 
Very nice hotel and excellent service throughout all areas with real value for money. Easy access to major roads out of San Sebastian and short distance to mountain regions.

U.K., December 2011


I can't recommend this hotel strongly enough. The rooms are spacious, well lit, comfortable and quiet. Excellent service - our room was spotless every day...even on a day where we left the hotel very late due to enjoying a little too much of the delicious local wine the night before (this really impressed us). Location is terrific for those who want to feel like you're staying in a more authentic part of town. There's a great wine and food shop nearby, plenty of cafes for a morning coffee or a nightcap after a night wandering through old town. The hotel also provides a list of their favorite tapas spots - three that we tried from their list turned into our favorites, too!
 
U.K, November 2011
 

Handy spot near both bus to Bilbao & easy walk to train station. We stayed in the Julia Roberts room which is roomy and overlooks the street, relaxed part of town at night. Some Wifi reception issues, best near the door. The young male staff on reception were fantastic - great sense of humor, desire to assist, good recommendations for eating locally. Good burger & fries from room service. The Basque yoghurt at breakfast divine.
 
U.K., November 2011
 
We enjoyed the two nights stay at the hotel Astoria 7. It's modern, clean and offers a fantastic breakfast (great variety including healthy products). The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful and speak very good english. Our room was very nice, the bed & linen good quality and the bath room quit big. The cosy furnished library offers two computers with internet connection (free of charge), lots of books/daily newspapers as well as a large variety of DVD's (mainly great movie classics) which can be taken to the room for viewing (also free of charge).(…).
 
U.K., November 2011
 
This was a great hotel, very euromodern & clean, great breakfast and 20 minutes walk from the boardwalk.
 
U.K., November 2011


More than pleasantly surprised to discover the Astoria 7 Hotel in San Sebastian with its theme on Movie Characters. We stayed in the Stephen Spielberg room which was modern , clean and a very comfortable bed. The Library on the Ground Floor for guests is worth a look. Excellent value and a wonderful City.
 
U.K., October 2011
 
10 minute walk from the old town, Astoria 7 offers a quiet, understated getaway suitable for friends, groups and couples. Enjoyed the stay.
 
U.K., October 2011
 
Great unique touches throughout the hotel. Nice, friendly staff and conveniently located!
 
U.K., October 2011
 
Loved that the hotel's decor was centred around films and the San Sebastian's film festival. Our Room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated and had a great bathroom/shower area. (..). The hotel also had a great library/relaxation area just off the reception where you could relax reading a book or do some free interneting on the hotel's 2 computers. Breakfast was good too. The hotel is situated approx 20 mins walk from the old part of the city which was fine for us as (...). I would definitely come back and stay at this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
 
U.K., October 2011
 
Good cafe/bar. Directly opposite bus stop in to town.
 
U.K., October 2011
 
Very nice, new, clean & modern hotel with plenty of amenities at a reasonable price. Good location, easy bus trip, taxi ride or good 20 minute walk from city centre and parte vieja. Professional, friendly and helpful staff.
 
U.K., October 2011
 
Location. It was 15 mins from the centre of San Sebastian so there was sufficient privacy. Great tapas at their restaurant.
 
U.K., October 2011
 
The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had the best ventilation I have ever had in a hotel room. While my husband showered, I could get ready since the mirror did not fog. And I really liked having the small magnifying mirror in the bathroom as well.
 
U.K., October 2011


Staff were very helpful. Gym was handy and rooms were fantastic and spacious. It was exciting to have the Barcelona football team stay there!
 
Australia,  September  2011
 
What makes the interior and the rooms design unique and very special, is the dedication to the movie actors and directors. For any fan of cinema, this is impressive and outstanding. Congratulations to Hotel ASTORIA 7. San Sebastian is entitled to be proud of this Hotel.
 
Haiti, September 2011
 
I was impressed by this beautiful hotel. It was quite simply great. I really would like to stay there again, actually can´t wait until I get to visit San Sebastian again and Astoria 7. Remarkable ambience and design.
 
Sweden, September 2011
 
The movie theming is very well done and makes it an interesting hotel to stay in
 
U.K., September 2011
 

Fantastic hotel, which has a very strong "film" theme throughout. We stayed in the Meryl  Streep room and it had the most comfortable bed, fantastic showers and bath, in fact as I said in the title "I can't fault it." There were 7 of us (four adults, two teenagers and a 7 year old) and it suited all our needs. The rooms were extremely spacious, sound proofed and very comfortable with TVs, i-pod docks and DVD players. There were a host of DVDs you could pick up from the lounge and the hotel was big enough and so well laid out that it accommodated a rather fidgetty 7 year old extremely well and the teenagers could do there own thing in the sound proofed rooms and not bother anyone. The adjacent cafe was very cheap and great fun (…). Although about a 15 min walk from the old town, this was not a problem; there were no hills and with all the tapas bars you dive in and out of I think it was a welcomed walk. Staff were absolutely fantastic (…).
U.K., September 2011

Brand new hotel, very clean and very friendly staff. Didn't have the supperior room I booked available so upgraded me to the suite. Very happy with my stay overall and can only recommend. Location is good as well, not a fancy part of the city but only 10-15 min walk from the old part.
 
U.K., August 2011
 
The front office staff among the best of hotels I have visited in Spain. on checking in I dropped my shoulder bad and a bottle of wine broke; the guys were very quick to help me with it and even though it was my problem insisted on helping me clean up the mess and pick up some broken glass in my bag. Also hotel is very new and funky, and it will give you a good leg stretch walking a couple of k's down to the beach.
 
Singapour, August 2011
 
I booked Hotel Astoria based on the feedback given by other travellers.They all said it was great except for it was a 15 minute walk from the centre of town.Believe me you need to walk as much as possible in San Sebastian,as the food is so good.Location is not a problem at all.Hotel has a nice atmosphere,and the movie memorabillia is a nice touch.Would definitely recommend this hotel if staying in San Sebastian.
 
Australia, August 2011
 
The hotel was fantastic in terms of both its presentation and friendliness of staff. The library was amazing and provided a wealth of information on the stars featuring in the hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble. The location was great! I would love to stay there again whenever we are back in San Sebastian.
 
U.K., August 2011
 
We had a great stay at this original hotel and can only recommend it to friends & family!
 
Belgium, August 2011
 
Prior to arrival I was a little concerned that the 'themed' hotel maybe tacky but it was really modern and tasteful. The bedroom was very large and comfortable, superb decor, the bed was huge. It was a little on the dark side with the mood lighting but not off putting. The bathroom suite was very good standard, good shower and bath, double sinks. The whole hotel was spotless. Breakfast included was excellent with huge range of food including a 'free from' range. We pre- booked the garage which was perfect and worth the money. The free use of pc and internet was extremely useful, as were the umbrellas!
 
U.K., August 2011


We had a great stay in Astoria 7 and would definitely return if we came back to San Sebastian. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. It was very good value for the standard of comfort. Not a huge amount of clothes storage but completely adequate for our two day stay. Although breakfast and car parking were not included in the price, lots of extras were, such as beach towels, the hire of films, wifi etc. The sitting area downstairs is stylish and comfortable and has two computers, and has books, magazines and newspapers. The location is about 20 mins walk from the old town but we enjoyed the walk, through the Centro Romantico or towards the beach.

U.K., July 2011
 
Loved the movie theme and special movie theatre for guests.

Ireland, July 2011
 
Unique with the cinema theme. Very nice to have a selection of DVDs available for free use. We liked the hotel very much. Staff also very friendly and helpful.

Germany, July 2011
 
Hotel very convenient to city centre,very clean and room very comfortable.Service staff very helpful.

Ireland, July 2011
 
The themeing so creative design excellence, the lobby lounge in particular.helpful stafff who spoke English, great coffe and food in the causal cafe, parking availabilty and easy walking to all locations.

Australia, July 2011
 
Very modern, nice and original room, clean and just good size. Very pleasan balcony, Very nice surroundings. Helpful stuff. Close to regional bus stations.

Canada, July 2011


We really enjoyed our stay with Hotel Asotoria. The room was clean and spacious, the staff extremely helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good. It was a little bit of a walk to reach the old part of the city or the beach. That wasn't a problem for us but might mean some people would need to take the bus or get a taxi.We would definitely recommend the hotel to friends or use it again if coming to San Sebastian. We liked the film star theme!
 
U.K., June 2011
 
The Hotel was ideally placed in the city and had a secure underground car park. Everything we wanted to see was within easy walking distance. Breakfast was plentiful and set in a clean restaurant. The staff were very polite and helpful. An ideal place to stay.
 
U.K., June 2011
 
The cinema theme and the large and well equipped bathrooms.
 
Portugal, June 2011
 
Lovely film themed hotel. Stayed for 3 nights. Very helpful staff and comfortable room In an amazing city which is foodie paradise. Pleasant 15 min leisurely walk from the old town and the beach which is useful to burn off calories after the mandatory pinxhos crawl in old town Would definitely stay here again. Underground onsite parking a godsend as parking seemed to be a bit of a nightmare with traffic warden everywhere.
 
U.K., June 2011
 
Centrally located within easy access to the central bus station with direct transport to airport in Bilbao. Good bus transport to the old town - Boulevard bus stop. Great themed rooms and very relaxed lobby area. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. This is my second stay and will go there again if the price is right.
 
Ireland, June 2011
 
Reception was friendly, professional and flexible. We had a small problem problem at check in which was handled in a prompted and courteous manner. The hotel decor was modern and well done. We used the gym and found it to be sufficient - treadmill, rower, elliptical, gym ball, free weights and weight machine. The dvd library came in handy and there were some children s titles in several languages. The hotel is a pleasant 12 minutes walking distance to the old center and less to the sea. Or a five euro taxi fare. Lot of play parks in the area.
 
Luxembourg, June 2011

Stylish modern hotel close to the centre of San Sebastián. Large, well appointed rooms and immaculately clean, nice bar which does great tapas. The staff were excellent and even helped me find a ticket for the Real Scociedad match I had come to watch, all in all a very good experience.
U.K., May 2011
The hotel was a great surprise: extremely clean, modern, a great and comfortable living room with unlimited supply of books, dvds.... the movies theme gave it a very original touch... I was truly surprised and found it great value for money.
U.K., May 2011
Great location. 15 minutes walk to the old city. Stayed 2 nights instead one.We loved the concept.
Canadá, May 2011
Actor-themed rooms and history of the san sebastian film festival make for a unique experience. Otherwise everything functioned like clockwork.
U.K., May 2011
The staff was helpful - the hotel had a clean high tech look
U.S., May 2011

The reception staff were so helpful to us during our stay! Hotel was lovely and clean.
Ireland, April 2011
Watching the films. The bed was very comfy. The breakfast was delicous. The staff were very friendly especially the man with the teeth braces. The Hotel was bright and cheerful. A wonderful ambiance.
UK, April 2011
Nice design. Helpful staff.
UK, April 2011

Reception staff were really excellent, all of them, also the loung room with computers, dvd and sofas worked really well.
 
U.K., March 2011
 
Interesting with all of its film memorabilia. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay here. We recommended it to our friends and they have booked to stay here too.x
 
U.K., March 2011
 
The location was great for visiting the city and the staff made the difference! Execellent!
 
U.K., March 2011
 
It was in a very convenient situation in the city. Very clean and staff very friendly. The car park is an added bonus.
 
U.K., March 2011

The concept of the hotel is great and it is very well thought out from the reception area to the rooms. The reading room at the hotel was great. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good.
U.K. – February 2011
Great location for town centre and football stadium, unusual movie theme throughout, spacious and clean. Car parking fine.
U.K. – February 2011


The room was gorgeous –- great furniture, space and comfort ... and a fab bathroom too.
Australia – January 2011


very comfortable place, enjoyed the library and good breakfast.
Spain – January 2011


Friendly staff; great design; very nice room
France -  January 2011


Thematic hotel, decoration was very impressive. Rooms quite spacey, clean and comfortable. Toilette material (shampoos etc.) very good.
Turkey – January 2011                                    

Parking available, Good internet, Easy to find

USA -  December 2010

awesome hotel, great variety at breakfast, loved the movie themed rooms, great lounge area for relaxing and free internet and wi-fi, would come back again!
 
United Kingdom – November 2010
 
Excellent staff, great breakfast, WiFi, great bar, comfortable beds, modern design.
 
Spain- November 2010

I loved the idea of each room being dedicated to an actor, it made each room to be sthg special. The room was very clean, the hotel staff extremely helpful and friendly, superb breakfast, all in all a very pleasant experience
Sweden - November 2010
Lovely design, very friendly and well located. We%2